

## Midlands Engine Digital Strategy Board

The Midlands Engine Digital Strategy Board is accountable for synthesising the Midlands digital strategy, facilitating the addressing of critical issues or gaps not addressed through existing plans and for raising awareness of the Midland's digital credentials outside of our region to attract inward investment and boost jobs. This will support the Midlands private sector digital economy, public sector digital services and enabling capabilities including vocational skills, inward investment, R&D and others.

## Objectives

- 1. Summarise the Midlands' digital strategy and priorities to leap-frog benefits delivery building upon existing Midlands digital strategies, recovery and growth plans.
- 2. Identify critical gaps (e.g. skills, data, investment etc.), not addressed through existing plans/activities and covered as part of the Midlands' digital priorities.
- 3. Co-create solutions to address these gaps through existing organisations/work or by exception through new projects and funding to enable the region to move ahead. This includes driving adoption of digital technologies, where appropriate.
- 4. Raise awareness of the Midlands' digital credentials and attract inward investment to create further jobs, clusters and economic growth.
- 5. Extend the Midlands' leadership in next generation technology innovation and R&D by attracting inward investment including horizon scanning & Imagineering.

## Membership

The ME Digital Strategy Board comprises non-executive directors – balancing public and private sector representation alongside local and national leadership:

Mark Stansfeld (Chair)	West Midlands 5G
Rachael Greenwood	Midlands Engine
Debbie Barnes	Lincolnshire County Council
Wayne Langford	West Midlands Combined Universities (MEU)
Sarah Windrum	Coventry and Warwickshire LEP
Professor Peter Kawalek	Loughborough University
Tracy Westall	Department for Transport, Innovate Birmingham and Birmingham City
	University DfT Board
David Richards	WANdisco

Observers	
Blake Bower	Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS)
Stephen Jones	Department for Business Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS)
Robert Franks	WM5G
Ian Smith	Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS)